My Amazon Book Reviews 2011

Dead Dogs and Englishmen (An Emily Kincaid Mystery)
Dead Dogs and Englishmen (An Emily Kincaid Mystery)
by Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli
Edition: Paperback
Price: $10.91
Availability: In Stock
25 used & new from $8.30

5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Mystery and a Dinner party, July 11, 2011

Title of Book: Dead Dogs and Englishmen
Author: Elizabeth Kan Buzzelli is a creative writing instructor at Northwestern Michigan College. She is the author of Dead Dancing Women, Dead Floating Lovers, and Dead Sleeping Shaman.
ISBN Number: 978-0-7387-1878-1
Publisher: Midnight Ink
Genre/Market: Mystery
Publication Date: 2011
Book Length: 246 Pages
Price: $14.95
Paperback
5 Out of 5 points
Headline for Book Review: Murder Mystery and A Dinner Party
Main Characters: Emily Kincaid a mid 30′s journalist whom left Ann Arbor Michigan newspaper to write her novel in a quiet country area.
Jackson Rinaldi: Emily’s ex husband a 41 year old English Professor at the University of Michigan.
Sorrow: Emily’s dog
Dolly Wakowski: The town Deputy
Cecil Hawke: A writer.
Madeleine Clark: Wants to publish Emily’s new novel.
EATS: Eats is the town restaurant in Leestsville with owner Eugenia Fuller and Gloria the waitress and where all gossip is the center of attention.
Emily and Dolly build a friendship because Dolly wants Emily to publish Dotty’s Police stories in the local paper.
The story starts out with Dolly going to Emily’s house to talk to her about a dead woman that has been found along with a dead dog behind an abandoned Old Farm house. Emily has a keen sense of what animals do. They first find a dead woman in the old abandoned farm house tied at her angles and hands. She wore a cross and appeared to be a “Mexican” colored skin type. When they arrive there are circling buzzards and that is when the pit bull is found shot in the back of the head behind the farm house. They then proceed to talk to all of the town’s people to try to find out who the ID of the women could be.
On page 83, “what it sounded like to me was a dispute between workers coming in from Mexico, maybe some kind of turf war.”
In the midst of this ongoing investigation Jackson, Emily’s ex asks her to edit a manuscript by Cecil Hawke. Emily needs the money and Jackson sets up an interview and Emily takes on this job. Before they leave the meeting, sign a contract and take a 1,500 deposit, Emily and Jack are invited to a costume party at Cecil’s house the next weekend. They both agree to go and dress in costumes. When the date arrives they attend and find out there is a Séance for all of the guests to participate in. As they all hold hands and ask the “spirit guides” questions, a sudden gunshot is heard and Dolly is there to investigate. The wife of Cecil (Lila) is found dead. Another investigation is being performed.
In the end you will be surprised who the real killer its!
Jackie Paulson © 2011 All Rights Reserved


Zesty Womanhood at 40 and Beyond: Second Act, New Role
Zesty Womanhood at 40 and Beyond: Second Act, New Role
by Erica Tucci
Edition: Paperback
Price: $11.95
Availability: In Stock

5.0 out of 5 stars Zesty Womanhood at 40 and Beyond, June 10, 2011

Erica Tucci Zesty Womanhood at 40 and Beyond Book Review by Jackie Paulson 3-5-2011

If you believe that turning 40 is a central point in your life then this book is a great resource of reading for you. There are new challenges to experience as women during this spiritually awakening phase of life. The past 40 years helped us to be who we are today. Many of us got married, had a child or two or three and have labels of wife, mother, sister, home maker, coach, launderer, grocery shopper, bill payer, chef, chauffeurs, house keeper, volunteer, pet sitter and much more as Erica explains.
So women wonder at age 40 why we are exhausted! We have learned to put down our own needs and wants for the safe of our family, friends, co workers and so on and so forth. There comes a point where a woman’s boundaries are just nonexistent and we have allowed others to enter into our personal space 24/7. No wonder we are exhausted!
Erica explains that when she published her first book she had set no boundaries for herself. She let her everyday roles keep going as well as adding on the pressure of writing her first book. She does accomplish this with a valuable lesson for all to learn from.
Setting boundaries with others is the key to becoming balanced. It is a balance of giving and receiving not just always being the giver. It is so important to set “me time,” and re-energize ourselves before we can be much help to others in the first place.
This book is a wonderful read which anyone can identify with. Erica writes from her heart and soul. She shares her real life experiences to help women understand why 40 is pivotal point in our lives. Erica asks thought provoking questions to the reader which helped me refocus my life on the “me” aspect and not just the “others” aspect.

Here is Eric’s Website: [...]

© 2011 written by Jackie Paulson


The Cause within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
The Cause within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
by George Barna
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $13.40
Availability: In Stock
46 used & new from $12.40

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cause Within You by Matthew Barnett, June 8, 2011
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

The Cause Within You by Matthew Barnett
If you are searching for meaning and purpose to your life this book will help guide you to finding it. “Discover the cause God has for you.”

Matthew Barnett is cofounder with his father, Pastor Tommy Barnett of The Dream Center in Los Angeles. His father is also the senior pastor of the historical Angelus Temple.
When Matthew Barnett sees someone with a need, he sets out to fill it and that includes searching for hurt people that need healing.

Quote: “Tonight is the 15th Anniversary of the beginning of The Dream Center, in which we help to restore the shattered dreams and empty lives of broken people.” Page 3

The story unfolds by Matthew spending the night of his 15th Anniversary on the streets of Los Angeles, with the homeless community who suffer.

Quote: “I’d been praying all night that the Lord would give me somebody to help, and then He delivered Annette to me.” Page 26

God wants us to enjoy serving others by doing what we are naturally talented at. If you have a talent that comes naturally to you God will bless it; as he did with Matthew Barnett.

At the end of each chapter Matthew writes, “WHAT I’VE LEARNED.” These pointers will help you to find exactly what it is that you are naturally great at doing and guide you along your path to finding it.

This is book would be a great group study as it has questions at the back of the book for discussion, loaded with scriptures.

Matthews other book includes “The Church That Never Sleeps.”
© 2011 written by Jackie Paulson


His Brother's Keeper: Updated by James Reimann
His Brother’s Keeper: Updated by James Reimann
by Charles Monroe Sheldon
Edition: Paperback
Availability: Out of Print–Limited Availability
78 used & new from $0.01

5.0 out of 5 stars His Brother’s Keeper By Charles M Sheldon, June 8, 2011

His Brother’s Keeper by Charles M. Sheldon

Paperback: 245 pages

Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers; 1st edition (September 20, 1999)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0785269487
ISBN-13: 978-0785269489
My Brother’s Keeper by Charles M. Sheldon and the type of book ranges from, Inspirational Christianity, faith, forgiveness, charity, love, tragedy, and fate.

Charles M. Sheldon was a minister at the Central Congregational Churchin Topeka Kansas, from 1889 until he passed on in 1946. This book was written in 1895, one year before he wrote In His Steps; popular for the developed statement in 2011 of “What Would Jesus Do?”

When thirty year old Stuart Duncan , the son of Ross Duncan a wealthy mine owner, returns from his college education and was just now returning home from a year of traveling in Europe. As Stuart stepped off the train of his hometown of Champion Stuart sees the biggest crowd of people he ever had seen gathered in town. The crowd of 5,000 mine workers went on strike because they wanted the wealthy mine owners to raise their wages. The strike leader was Eric Vassall, Stuart’s boyhood playmate and life-long friend. Eric saved Stuarts life when an elevator broke in the mineshaft earlier in Stuart’s life. Eric’s life style was of a hard working labor man while Eric’s life style was of a son of a wealthy family. Stuart’s father dies from a stroke or brain hemorrhage and he inherits the entire wealth of his father leaving him to make all of the decisions of the mine business and the strike dispute. The story unfolds and tells how Stuart solves the labor dispute while enduring some of hardest decisions concerning wealth, family, friends, and those of his community.

Other Books:

Sheldon’s most famous book, by far, was In His Steps (1897).

Among the more popular of his approximately 50 other books were:

The Crucifixion of Philip Strong (1898),

Robert Hardy’s Seven Days (1893),

The Reformer(1901),

and His Brother’s Keeper (1896).

He also published hundreds of magazine articles, most frequently in The Christian Herald.

He published an autobiography, His Life Story (1925).

No major biography of Sheldon has been published, although one is in progress.

A pamphlet of some value is Glenn Clark, The Man Who Walked In His Steps (1946).

Several master’s theses have been written on Sheldon; probably the best is David G. Johnson, A Study of the Ideas of Charles M. Sheldon (University of Kansas, 1965).

Many histories of the social gospel period in American religious history make brief references to Sheldon. © 2011 written by Jackie Paulson


In His Steps (Abridged Christian Classics)
In His Steps (Abridged Christian Classics)
by Charles M. Sheldon
Edition: Paperback
Price: $2.99
Availability: In Stock
44 used & new from $0.01

5.0 out of 5 stars In His Steps by Charles M Sheldon, June 8, 2011

In His Steps by Charles M. Sheldon

I have the Complete and Unabridged copy – (It means that the story is as it was originally written – nothing has been cut. It’s not a condensed version).

Over 15 Million copies sold!

PUBLISHER:

Barbour Publishing, Inc.

CATEGORY:

Christian Classics

ISBN:978-1-60260-854-2

BINDING: Paper

PAGE COUNT:192 pages

AVAILABILITY:

Available- In Stock

PRICE: $2.99

In His Steps by Charles M. Sheldon and the type of book ranges from, Christianity, faith, forgiveness, charity, love, tragedy, and fate.

Quote from book, “What would Jesus do if He was out of work like me?” Page: 226

My copy of this book is © 1985 by Barbour and Company, Inc. ISBN 0-916441-237 Printed in the USA.

Charles Monroe Sheldon first published in 1897.

Charles Monroe Sheldon was born on (February 26, 1857 in Wellsville, New York – February 24, 1946) was an Americanminister in the Congregational churches and leader of the Social Gospel movement. His novel, In His Steps,introduced the principle of “What Would Jesus Do?” which articulated an approach to Christian theology that became popular at the turn of the 20th Century and had a revival almost one hundred years later .

Source: Found here.

In His Steps takes place in the railroad town of Raymond, presumably located in the eastern U.S.A. (Chicago, IL and the coast of Maine are mentioned as being accessible by train). The main character is the Rev. Henry Maxwell, pastor of the First Church of Raymond, who challenges his congregation to not do anything for a whole year without first asking: “What Would Jesus Do?” Other characters include Ed Norman, senior editor of the Raymond Daily Newspaper, Rachel Winslow, a talented singer, and Virginia Page, an heiress, to name a few.

The novel begins on a Friday morning when a destitute vagabond appears at the front door of Henry Maxwell while the latter is preparing for that Sunday’s upcoming sermon. Maxwell listens to the vagabond’s helpless plea briefly before curtly brushing him away and closing the door. The same vagabond appears in church at the end of the Sunday sermon, walks up to “the open space in front of the pulpit,” and faces the people. No one stops him. He quietly but frankly confronts the congregation–”I’m not complaining; just stating facts.”–about their compassion, or apathetic lack thereof, for the homeless like him in Raymond. Upon finishing his address to the congregation, he collapses and dies a few days later.

That next Sunday, Henry Maxwell, deeply moved by the events of the past week, presents a challenge to his congregation: “Do not do anything without first asking, `What would Jesus do?’” This challenge is the theme of the novel and is the driving force of the plot. From this point on, the rest of the novel consists of certain episodes that focus on individual characters as their lives are transformed by the challenge.

Source:

In my book let me quote which sums up so much for me: PAGE: 75

“WHAT JESUS WOULD PROBABLY DO IN A BUSINESS AS A BUSINESS MAN”

1. He would engage in the business first of all for the purpose of Glorifying God, and not for the primary purpose of making money.

2. All money that might be made he would never regard it as his own, but as a trust funds to be used for the good of all humanity.

3. His relationships with all the people in the company that he dealt with would be the most loving and helpful. He could not help thinking of all of them in the light of souls to be saved. This thought would always be greater than his thought of making money in his business.

4. He would never do a single dishonest or questinable thing or try in any way to get the advantage of any one else in teh same business.

5. The principle of unselfishness and helpfulness in the business would direct all it’s details.

6. Upon this principle he would shape the entire plan of his relationships to his employees, to the people who were his customers and to the general business world with which he was connected. © 2011 by Jackie Paulson


The Rescue
The Rescue
by Nicholas Sparks
Edition: Paperback
Price: $11.19
Availability: In Stock
208 used & new from $0.73

5.0 out of 5 stars The Rescue My Review, May 31, 2011
This review is from: The Rescue (Paperback)

Some FACTS:
It is #1 on the New York Times Bestseller list

It’s Copyright © 2000

Warner Books, Inc.

1271 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10020
[...]
[...]

Nicholas wife is Cathy

He has three sons Miles, Ryan and Landon

His Agent is Theresa Park of Sanford Greenburger Associates

His Editor is Jamie Raab of Warner Books

This book took place in 1999 when North Carolina had the worst storms in history.

The main Character is Denise Holton whom was traveling to Edenton, North Carolina with her son Kyle (age 4) in the back seat.

Denise dedicated her life to her son Kyle and he was a full time job for her as he required special attention for a “speech”/”language” disability. As a single mother she set out to do her best. She worked four nights a week, five hours a shift earning enough to get what she needed to. She became a master of budgeting, a master of cutting corners. She had 238.00 in the bank and her car is 19 years old.

The reason why she was a single mother is that the father is Brett Cosgrove, and he was the type of man who attracted attention. She was 23 and in her second year of teaching, Susan introduced Denise to Brett who was in town for a short investment banking business deal and they basically had a “one night stand” that led to her pregnancy of her wonderful son Kyle. The father did not want anything to do with her or the baby.

On page 24-25: “She worried about Kyle all the time, and though all mothers worried about their children, she knew it wasn’t the same. Sometimes she wished she knew someone else who had a child like Kyle. At least then someone would understand. At least then she’d have someone to talk to, to compare notes with, to offer a shoulder when she needed to cry. Did other mothers wake up every day and wonder whether their child would ever had a friend? Any friend? Ever? Did other mothers sooner whether their children would go to a regular school or play sports or go to the prom? Did other mothers watch as their were ostracized, not only by other children, but by other parents as well? Did their worries on on every minute of every day, seemingly without an end in sight?”

As Denise was traveling a doe, fully grown on this stormy night froze in front of her car-she knew she would hit it! As she swerved to hit the deer she hit a tree and her head hit the steering wheel and scaring pain in her forehead and fell unconscious.

The next thing she hears is “Hey, Lady, are you all right?” All she could say is KYLE! Where is my son? He was not in the car! Taylor McAden was the man from the fire department who found Denise first. This led to a community of fireman and volunteers to find Kyle in a swampy area who Taylor found Kyle’s blanket, in the swampy areas about 50 years from the spot where Denise had crashed. It took hours when Kyle was found by Taylor and brought to the hospital where Denise was taken for her injuries. Since Kyle could barely speak this task of finding him was harder than a normal case.

Taylor’s mother Judy always wanted him to find a wife and settle down. But for some reason “love” was just not his thing. His relationships would start off wonderful and then he lost interest. But this is not the case for how he felt for Denise as the relationship develops. In the end they end up happily ever after with Taylor adopting Kyle as his son.

Quote I love: Page 131: “You are going to come across people in your life who say all the right words at all the right time. But in the end, it’s always their actions you should judge them by. It’s actions, not words, that matter.”


Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life
by Nick Vujicic
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $11.12
Availability: In Stock
79 used & new from $5.15

5.0 out of 5 stars Blog for Books Inspirational Book Nick Vujicic, April 16, 2011

My first book Review was short and sweet and to the point. I read Life without Limits by Nick Vujicic. This is the book that led me to finally get the courage to blog about Divorce Issues at my blog.

I read this book in two days (288) pages total. I am an avid reader and enjoy this hobby more than anything else in my life.
This book was published in 2010 and if it were not for “I BLOG FOR BOOKS” I would not have learned to stand up for what I believe in and start taking action now. This book was published in the USA by Doubleday Religion, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc., N.Y.
Life without Limits should also be Life without Limbs. Nick Vujicic was born with no hands or feet. I had so many questions when I read his book. He is 27 years old in 2010 when this book was published. He was raised in a Christian home and has a younger brother (Aaron) and (Michelle) his sister. His goal in writing this book is to encourage others to overcome challenges and hardships so that they can “find your own purpose.” Nick over came so many obstacles with his (disability) which make us think and realize that to discover who we are meant to be and what we can share of our gifts to benefit others by his true story of overcoming the odds.
On page 19 I quote, “You have to stretch beyond where you are to reach where you want to be.”
Nick was born on 12/4/1982 and the nurse told his parents he had a medical condition called “Phocamelia.” Nicks mother happened to be a nurse thus understood what the term meant. His father was in shock and denial the day Nick was born. Both parents were from former Yugoslavia which is called Serbia today (4/15/2011).
What encouraged me the most is the way he wrote about all of his life experiences and challenges he had to overcome. He had to learn not to depend only on his family to do things for him. He had a desire to learn to be independent of his family as he did not want that burden on them. When I think of all of the challenges and teenage struggles I went through and thought they were a big deal, I can see now that Nick’s struggles were far more challenging to overcome. It made me look back on my life and see that I was a typical American Teenager who wished this book was out back when I was in High School.
At the age of 24, Nick attended a California church for a speaking engagement and met one other newborn baby that day who was just like he was; born without limbs. That said, Nick is a public speaker, a Christian, and travels around the world to help others understand that we are all God`s Creation.This is what led Nick to realize his life passion to public speaking and helping others was his Life Mission given by God. He finally met one other person “just like him” and he realized, “when i was growing up i had no one who shared my situation who could help guide me, but now (Daniel) has someone. I can help him. My parents can help his parents. He does not have to go though what I went through, Perhaps I can spare him some of the pain that I had to endure. ” PAGE: 24

1 thought on “My Amazon Book Reviews 2011”

  1. Ron Cconway said:

    Looking for book “The Church
    That Never Sleeps”.

    Like

Thanks You For Stopping by and Your Comments The Book Heaven Team

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,307 other followers